Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?  (Read 2579 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DevilEdge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Hi there,

I successfully compiled the latest SFML sources with Cmake using the generator Visual Studio 12 2013. However, whenever actually building the sources I'm unsure of what command to use. I already tried using nmake, but I get an error that says nmake does not know how to make all. Is this a environment variable issue, or am I supposed to use a different command since I didn't compile using Nmake files.

Thanks!

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6287
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 05:36:07 pm »
Either you generate a Visual Studio 2013 solution, and then you open the solution and compile the INSTALL project.

Or you generate a NMake makefile, and type (in the VS command line) nmake install.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

DevilEdge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2014, 07:13:36 pm »
Ok, I'm trying to use the Nmake option, but it's giving me this error:

CMake Warning at CMakeLists.txt:17 (project):
  To use the NMake generator, cmake must be run from a shell that can use the
  compiler cl from the command line.  This environment does not contain
  INCLUDE, LIB, or LIBPATH, and these must be set for the cl compiler to
  work.
 

I followed the tutorial to the T, but I don't see what I'm doing wrong.

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6287
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2014, 07:16:49 pm »
As mentioned, you must use the VS command line, not cmd.exe. It can be found from the Windows start menu under "Visual Studio Tools". You probably want to use the "x86 native" version.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

DevilEdge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2014, 07:20:16 pm »
I understand that, the Cmake GUI gives me this whenever I try to totally recompile SFML. Sorry if I wasn't clear.

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6287
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2014, 07:40:27 pm »
Have you run CMake GUI from the VS shell?
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

DevilEdge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2014, 11:12:51 pm »
No I didn't do that. How do you access the VS shell?

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6287
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: What command to use for building SFML (Visual Studio 2013)?
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2014, 11:13:56 pm »
Read my posts...
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development: