Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Proper zoom usage  (Read 2750 times)

Arith

• View Profile
Proper zoom usage
« on: August 11, 2014, 04:01:33 pm »
So, I'm fairly new to SFML and I've run into some unusual behaviour. I'm wondering if I'm using the zoom function incorrectly.
I've adapted my camera code to mostly work with sf::View. It scrolls across the map to my satisfaction. Until I use zoom. Then the map coasts off into oblivion on load.

I'm going to paraphrase my code, to copy it would clutter up the post

Camera.cpp:
    void camApplyTranslation()
    {
        Camera.wView.setCenter(sf::Vector2f(Camera.x, Camera.y));
// Problem here
        // Camera.wView.zoom(Camera.z);
    }

void camInitCamera()
    {
       // ... other camera initializations

Camera.wView.setCenter(sf::Vector2f(0,0));
        Camera.wView.setSize(1024, 768);
        Camera.wView.zoom(1.0);
        Window.setView(Camera.wView);
        camLookAt(200.0,200.0,1.0); // Move to view these coordinates on load
    }

Game.cpp
void GameLoop()
{
  camInitCamera();
  while (Window.isOpen())
  {
    // Controls
    Window.clear();
    camPollCamera();
    camApplyTranslation();
    Window.setView(Camera.wView);
    //Draw stuff
    Window.display();
  }
}

The code in it's current state works, minus the zoom functionality. When I uncomment that zoom line, as soon as the map loads I can see it zoom out until the map is invisible. I had a look at the variables per-frame and there's nothing that would tell me something is wrong. Camera.z starts out at 5.0f and slowly decreases to 1.0f every frame.  Instead each frame is zooming the map away from the camera.

So, to establish a baseline, I changed that line to Camera.wView.zoom(1.0);