Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML2.0 - excessive memory usage when loading images  (Read 1910 times)

starkhorn

• View Profile
    • Email
SFML2.0 - excessive memory usage when loading images
« on: November 23, 2014, 04:22:42 am »
Hi Folks,

I'm still new to programming and sfml (using sfml2.0). I've noticed that the memory usage goes way up very quickly in my system task manager (5-6GB within 10-15min of play for example).

I'm trying to do a simple RISK type war strategy game where I have a map of the world divided up into specific regions, i.e. Spain, France etc.
So I've got a Region class which will have a jpg image filename that I want to load into the program and display the region. The region color changes depending on which nation controls that particular region.
So nothing too fancy at all. I've essentially followed the tutorial http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/graphics-sprite.php in order to determine how to load in images via SFML.

So I've created a region class, which has a texture, sprite, filename and a position. See below.

class Region
{
public:
        Region();

struct Position
        {
                int xPos;
                int yPos;
        };

string getRegionImageFileName();
        Position getImagePosition();
        sf::Texture getRegionImageTexture();
        sf::Sprite getRegionImageFileSprite();

private:

string regionImageFileName;
        Position imagePosition;
        sf::Texture  regionImageFileTexture;
        sf::Sprite regionImageFileSprite;
};

So in the main game loop create a vector of this Region class which defines all of these parameters. (I actually read it in from a text file but that is really relevant for my question). I also have a drawEngine class which has pointer to the Region vector that contains all of the regions. It also has a Sprite, sprite pointer and texture pointer defined as well as the renderwindow.

class drawEngine
{
public: