Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML 2.1 (still ?) does not clear() rendertexture on AMD graphic card  (Read 1362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

slash29

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hi,

I am using SFML 2.1 in my latest project.
Drawing aircraft and NAV targets from FSX to an EFIS screen.
Realized by drawing the stuff to a rendertextue, which I clear first, then using the rentertexture as a Sprite to draw to the actual renderpanel.
Works like a charm with NVIDEA, but i recently got some reports from AMD users that the panel (obviously, see below) does not get cleared between drawing cycles.

Recent report was from a user with a AMD Radeon R9 200 Series card.

I have read on the internet that there was a rendertexture clear problem in the past, but it sounded as if that would have been resolved with version 1.6+

Any ideas, tricks or workarounds would be very welcome.

Speedwise, it is really necessary to draw to a rendertexture instead of a renderpanel dircetly ?

Best regards
rudolf
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 03:30:04 pm by slash29 »

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32498
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: SFML 2.1 (still ?) does not clear() rendertexture on AMD graphic card
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2016, 03:43:17 pm »
Quote
I am using SFML 2.1 in my latest project.
First thing to do is to try the latest version. 2.1 is old.

Quote
Speedwise, it is really necessary to draw to a rendertexture instead of a renderpanel dircetly ?
Maybe you should first explain why you're currently drawing to a RenderTexture first.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

slash29

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: SFML 2.1 (still ?) does not clear() rendertexture on AMD graphic card
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 03:49:55 pm »
I am using SFML 2.1 in my latest project.
First thing to do is to try the latest version. 2.1 is old.
 


I have upgraded to 2.3 and am in the process distributing a new 2.3 version to the user who complained.
No results back yet. Will report here.

Quote
Speedwise, it is really necessary to draw to a rendertexture instead of a renderpanel dircetly ?
Maybe you should first explain why you're currently drawing to a RenderTexture first.

Well, I do not remember exactly but think I read that drawing to a rendertexture first results in better speed and decreases flickering of the display. But I might be wrong here and could rewrite the whole drawing stuff.
Should I ?

Best regards. Thanks for a great product BTW.

rudolf

« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 03:52:44 pm by slash29 »

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32498
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: SFML 2.1 (still ?) does not clear() rendertexture on AMD graphic card
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2016, 04:24:47 pm »
Quote
Should I ?
Of course. Don't do things without knowing why, or at least testing them ;)
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

 

anything