Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Collision accuracy issues  (Read 1467 times)

R_oot42O

• View Profile
[SOLVED] Collision accuracy issues
« on: April 07, 2020, 07:34:20 pm »
Hello everyone, I am currently creating a "Bubble Shooter" like (see https://bubble-shooter.co/) only with RectangleShapes but I am facing a problem with collision accuracy. In fact, the collision is well detected, but not accurate.

See these images :

https://ibb.co/F0sckGd

https://ibb.co/MPYMWw5

As you can see, collision isn't accurate.

What i've found so far :

Increasing Framerate limit (setFramerateLimit) to something like 600 and decreasing the move speed to 1 fix this issue.
    I'm quite new to game development, but I guess that running a game at 600 fps isn't a good idea right ?

It looks like the issue is related to the speed and the direction vector, but cannot find out what's wrong.

Here's some part of my source code.

void Game::processEvent(sf::Event e)
{
   if(e.type == sf::Event::MouseButtonPressed && canShoot == true)
   {
      float mouseX = sf::Mouse::getPosition(gameWindow).x; //Getting mouse position
      float mouseY = sf::Mouse::getPosition(gameWindow).y;

if(mouseY < gameSize.y - blockSize.y)
      {
         blockDirection.x += mouseX - (gameSize.x / 2); //Calculating direction vector (gameSize.x / 2) is the x origin of the projectile.
         blockDirection.y += mouseY - (gameSize.y - blockSize.y); //gameSize.y - blockSize.y is the y origin of the projectile
         canShoot = false;
      }
   }
}
void Game::gameUpdate()
{
   int id = isGameBlockColliding();
   if(id == -1 && canShoot == false)
   {
      blockDirection = normalizeDirection() * blockSpeed; //When blockSpeed is set to 1, there's no collision issue, but the game is much too slow.
      gameBlock.moveBlock(blockDirection);
   }
   else if(id == -2) //In case we collide with screen borders (only x axis for now)
   {