Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: simple Visual Novel "engine"  (Read 6347 times)

Martu

• View Profile
simple Visual Novel "engine"
« on: September 24, 2010, 03:59:09 am »
Hi,

I wanted to Introduce my first project with c++ and SFML.
Some details about the project:

What is this project about?
This is a small Visual Novel. Or at least it should be one when it's finished  :)

Why a VN?
Because I'm new to SFML and thought that a VN can't be that hard to create... Ok I'm still not finished after 2-3 weeks of working on this project, but I still want to finish this :P

Goal:
The main Goal is to create a short VN which is completely defined by configuration files, so as little as possible should be hardcoded.
When I'm finished and still want to continue this project I may even write some editor for this "engine" (if I can call it that)

Current State and some things about the code:
I'm using c++ and SFML 1.6, but I'm thinking about switching to SFML 2 but haven't decided yet. At the moment everything is still hardcoded, but I will change that later on. Currently I'm working on a own class for reading *.ini files ( I just want to write some own parser for exercise ), so when this is finished I'll make as much as possible with ini files.

Because I suck at drawing and because this is still far away from being finished the graphics and the overall look is horrible at the moment

I got the idea of the structure with the effects for the sprites from one of Spidyys projects, so the credit for this goes  to him  :)

But enough with the text, here's the source code, the windows exe (should compiled under Linux/Mac too but I haven't tested it) and the some data (images, font, ...) needed to run the game.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IGIGJ6UD

Some things I should also mention is:
Space = going to the next scene
Backspace = hide the text box
Back to Mainmenue = clicking on the "x" or alt+F4