Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Problem with scrolling screen  (Read 2019 times)

Davitosan

• View Profile
Problem with scrolling screen
« on: December 14, 2010, 09:05:51 am »
Hello, everybody! First of all, let me say that I'm very new to programming, C++ and SFML in general. I'm learning C++ alongside SFML because my ultimate goal is to make video games. So please bear with me if I ask rather stupid questions :D

Well, in my project I've managed to do the following:

- Load images and draw the sprites on the screen.
- Move the playable character.
- Animate the playable character.
- Basic collision detection (using my own half-baked algorithm).
- Scroll the screen.

Being a newbie programmer, I was elated to see these results, but now I'm getting a strange problem which I can't figure out. Allow me to elaborate:

Originally, the game had only one screen, a 800x600 area with a same-sized background image, with the character moving and jumping around. In order to test the scrolling, I drew a second "screen" on the right of the original one, an exact copy of the first screen. When I run the game, it all works fine, except that when I get closer to the rightmost edge of the second screen, the program lags considerably. This problem corrects itself if I move the character back to the first screen.

Since both of the screens are being drawn all the time, I can't figure out why it would matter where exactly on the screen the character is at. I understand that the position of the View and the x,y coordinates of the character become larger, but I don't think it should matter that a couple of floats change value from, say, 600 to 1500.

The code used to scroll the screen is tied to the character class' walking function:

Code: [Select]
if (ventana.GetInput().IsKeyDown(sf::Key::Left) && (animar_x > 0) )
{
caminando_izq = true;
if (caminando_der == true) arranque = 50;
caminando_der = false;