Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
. Did you miss your
activation email?
French forum
Home
Help
Search
Login
Register
SFML community forums
»
Help
»
Graphics
»
Frame Buffer
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Author
Topic: Frame Buffer (Read 6744 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
asdatapel
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Frame Buffer
«
on:
September 05, 2011, 04:57:59 am »
Is there a framebuffer objectin sfml?If not, can someone show me how to remove tearing from an application? Thanks.
Logged
Laurent
Administrator
Hero Member
Posts: 32498
Frame Buffer
«
Reply #1 on:
September 05, 2011, 07:32:07 am »
The equivalent of FBO in SFML (2, not 1.6) is the sf::RenderTexture class.
But how would it remove tearing?
Logged
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer
thePyro_13
Full Member
Posts: 156
Frame Buffer
«
Reply #2 on:
September 05, 2011, 08:55:24 am »
Doesn't SFML use page flipping(what I assume you want to implement with frame buffers) internally anyway? If you're still getting tearing then you need to enable Vertical Sync.
Logged
asdatapel
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Frame Buffer
«
Reply #3 on:
September 05, 2011, 05:19:59 pm »
Quote from: "Laurent"
But how would it remove tearing?
I dunno, I thought that was what framebuffers were for. What is the renderTexture used for?
Logged
asdatapel
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
err...sorry
«
Reply #4 on:
September 05, 2011, 05:23:21 pm »
I just found out that what Im looking for is called a doublebuffer. Sorry. Is there a doublebuffer in SFML?
Logged
Laurent
Administrator
Hero Member
Posts: 32498
Frame Buffer
«
Reply #5 on:
September 05, 2011, 06:00:51 pm »
Yes, SFML always uses a double-buffer.
Logged
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer
asdatapel
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Frame Buffer
«
Reply #6 on:
September 05, 2011, 06:03:14 pm »
ok thanks. Another question: does changing the window's framelimit change how many times the main loop is gone through, or just how many times its rendered?
Logged
Laurent
Administrator
Hero Member
Posts: 32498
Frame Buffer
«
Reply #7 on:
September 05, 2011, 06:20:59 pm »
It pauses the whole application (the pause is hidden in the Display function), so it changes how many times the main loop is gone through.
Logged
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer
Print
Pages: [
1
]
SFML community forums
»
Help
»
Graphics
»
Frame Buffer