Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Antialiasing error for shapes  (Read 3579 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Aval

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Antialiasing error for shapes
« on: December 26, 2008, 03:53:29 pm »
I'd like to smooth my shape edges, but setting up the window like this:

 
Code: [Select]
sf::RenderWindow App(sf::VideoMode(800, 600, 32), "My App", Style::Close|Style::Resize, WindowSettings(32, 8, 2 ) );

Gives the error:

Failed to find a pixel format supporting antialiasing ; antialiasing will be disabled

Any other way I can do this without using a software renderer to antialias lines manually?

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32498
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Antialiasing error for shapes
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 04:37:28 pm »
Which version of SFML? Which OS? Which graphics card?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Aval

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Antialiasing error for shapes
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2008, 05:02:11 pm »
SFML version 1.3, on Windows Vista, using integrated Intel 945 graphics.

Maybe the integrated graphics can't handle it?

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32498
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Antialiasing error for shapes
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2008, 11:19:48 pm »
Quote
Maybe the integrated graphics can't handle it?

That would be the most obvious reason ;)
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

dabo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://www.dabostudios.net
Antialiasing error for shapes
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2008, 02:59:37 am »
same graphics card, same problem :) I need a new laptop ;)

Aval

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Antialiasing error for shapes
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2008, 03:09:37 pm »
Me too, apparently.

Another question: Why do all of the sample programs crash at the end with a "pure virtual function call" error? My game seems to have developed this as well, when I added some extra sprites.

EDIT: Apparently, when I only have one sprite being drawn to the screen, I don't get the error when the app closes.