Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Graphic window doesn't open  (Read 3724 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

shaizar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Graphic window doesn't open
« on: September 11, 2012, 04:02:13 pm »
I am using visual studio 2008,  SFML 1.6 and windows 7
I have a few games that I've written during the last year for school on my computer - they are definitely working.
But now when I try to run them it opens the dos cmd window, and stuck there - the graphic window is not opening so i can't see the game.
I tried to re-install visual studio and SFML, both not helping

anyone have any idea what can be the problem?
thank you

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 04:06:37 pm »
AMD/ATI graphics card?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

shaizar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 04:55:08 pm »
yes, ATI mobility radeon HD 5000 series

I don't think that's the problem because the games were written and worked before on this computer

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, 04:55:53 pm »
SFML 1.6 doesn't work with these cards, unless you statically link it.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

shaizar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 05:06:16 pm »
is there a tutorial on how to statically link it?
probably something was changed in the options, but i don't remember how to do it again

btw sfml 2.0 works fine with it?

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10916
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2012, 05:29:49 pm »
It should be described in the official SFML 1.6 tutorial, but I advise you to use SFML 2, which doesn't have the ATI bug and many other improvements bug & feature wise. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

shaizar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2012, 09:23:13 pm »
tnx, it solves to ATI problem, but the program can't run due to incompatibility between the versions,
for example the method "setImage" in the "Sprite" class is not exist, this means that i need to change everything in the code to make it work - so it's not a good solution for me.

if anyone can explain to me how to  statically link the 1.6 version it will be great tnx

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2012, 09:37:22 pm »
Have you read the tutorial?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10916
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2012, 10:47:33 pm »
tnx, it solves to ATI problem, but the program can't run due to incompatibility between the versions,
for example the method "setImage" in the "Sprite" class is not exist, this means that i need to change everything in the code to make it work - so it's not a good solution for me.
Yeah you obviously have to change your code when switch from one version to another major version.

if anyone can explain to me how to  statically link the 1.6 version it will be great tnx
Just link against the libraries with the -s sufix and don't define SFML_DYNAMIC.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

shaizar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2012, 10:50:52 am »
tnx guys!
eXpl0it3r what you said didn't work, I needed to add the suffix -s-d to make it work

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10916
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2012, 10:54:06 am »
eXpl0it3r what you said didn't work, I needed to add the suffix -s-d to make it work
Well -s-d has also the suffix -s (= static) but also the suffix -d (= debug). ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

shaizar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Graphic window doesn't open
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2012, 09:08:47 pm »
Well -s-d has also the suffix -s (= static) but also the suffix -d (= debug). ;)

haha, I know.
I meant to say that just with the suffix -s it still didn't work


 

anything