Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: ?  (Read 2621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BeginnerSFML

  • Guest
?
« on: September 21, 2012, 07:23:49 pm »
?
« Last Edit: February 27, 2023, 02:41:12 am by BeginnerSFML »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10998
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: How to use SFML with CodeLite?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 07:39:18 pm »
I've never used CodeLite but since the IDE uses gcc as well as many other IDEs the setup should be quite similar.
If you want to know how to use CodeLite, then you should go to their website and/or use Google to find more information.
To use SFML, you simply have to make sure that the prebuild binaries are compatible with your compiler (e.g. the SFML 2rc binaries do not work with GCC 4.7.0) and then you have to setup the paths to the include and library folder and tell to linker to link against SFML. You might look at the official tutorials to see on how to those things in other IDEs and then you might be able to port if for CodeLite.

Have you ever taken a look at Code::Blocks (specially the nightly builds from the their forum)? For Code::Blocks there's even an official tutorial for SFML 2. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10998
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: How to use SFML with CodeLite?
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 10:53:11 pm »
On such a low spec machine I wouldn't even suggest any IDE, but a plain editor + console should do, but that requires a bit more knowledge than pressing some button on the IDE, since you'll have to deal with the compiler directly.
Since I'm curious, what kind of machine only has 320mb of RAM and 700mb disk space? :o
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10998
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: How to use SFML with CodeLite?
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2012, 09:28:48 am »
Will compilation time has nothing to do with IDEs, because the compiler is always a seperated application and I wouldn't have wondered if it would've taken even longer.
Is there a good reason to use such an old PC? I mean you'll a better probably for nothing. Also I wouldn't be sure if SFML even runs on such old machines. The graphics card needs to support OpenGL, which is not the case for many old PCs. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/