Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: RenderTextures and dynamic memory  (Read 7017 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10821
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: RenderTextures and dynamic memory
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2013, 05:17:48 pm »
It requires clear on integrated intel in a laptop.
Yeah well not calling clear is wrong anyways, although it sometimes works. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

FRex

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1845
  • Back to C++ gamedev with SFML in May 2023
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RenderTextures and dynamic memory
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2013, 05:22:54 pm »
'We' discovered it after I ran the snippet you posted that didn't contain clear in it. :P
Back to C++ gamedev with SFML in May 2023

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10821
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: RenderTextures and dynamic memory
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2013, 05:34:18 pm »
I never posted code without the clear in it. ;)
All the snippets above that show different variants contain all the clear call. :)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

awsumpwner27

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: RenderTextures and dynamic memory
« Reply #18 on: January 13, 2013, 09:21:01 pm »
I ran some of those examples. It would appear that any code that gets rid of shipRTex before the declaration of the Sprite ship produces a window which appears to never be cleared. (i.e. It's a window that displays what used to be on the screen before it appeared, rather than what I want to be drawn there.)

Also, for some information on my graphics card, I'll quote an earlier thread.

I checked out the examples, and I was disappointed to find out that the Shader example didn't work. I updated my graphics driver, hoping that it would make a difference, but it didn't. I got this computer about 4 years ago, and apparently I'm using a "Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family" graphics card. Also, the driver update I got was about 3 years old. :|

So, what are my options?

Also, if it's relevant, I recently found out that I'm using OpenGL version 1.4.0

ugh

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10821
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: RenderTextures and dynamic memory
« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2013, 10:55:07 pm »
I ran some of those examples. It would appear that any code that gets rid of shipRTex before the declaration of the Sprite ship produces a window which appears to never be cleared. (i.e. It's a window that displays what used to be on the screen before it appeared, rather than what I want to be drawn there.)
Sounds strange... :-\

I'm using a "Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family" graphics card.
Also, if it's relevant, I recently found out that I'm using OpenGL version 1.4.0
Well the only thing I could say is: Get a newer piece of hardware... ;)
I know, I know you probably don't have the money etc. but it's just that you can't expect that much graphical stuff will work... If you want some very simple graphics, your CPU might be more reliable and thus I'd suggest to take a look at SDL (not the newest version), which makes use of the CPU rather then the GPU...
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

FRex

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1845
  • Back to C++ gamedev with SFML in May 2023
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RenderTextures and dynamic memory
« Reply #20 on: January 14, 2013, 06:17:15 am »
Quote
I never posted code without the clear in it. ;)
http://en.sfml-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=9139.msg63009#msg63009
In case you're looking for code, scroll up to your previous post. ;D
Quote
SDL
>:(
Quote
I'm using a "Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family"
Mine is labeled similarly(I don't remember the G and numbers) and it has even bigger problems on Linux and almost no problems on Windows.
Back to C++ gamedev with SFML in May 2023

 

anything