Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: The program can't start because msvcp100d.dll is missing from your computer HELP  (Read 6069 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cowchin12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Email
So I have been trying to get this to work for ages. I have Windows 8 and Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate. I get this error: 

The program can't start because msvcp100d.dll is missing from your computer

This error occurs whenever I run a program with SFML code inside of it. If I have a program setup to link to SFML, but I don't use SFML code in the program, it runs fine. If I used ANY code related to SFML (like #include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>), I get the error. I have a laptop with windows 7 and Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate , and with the same project properties it runs fine with SFML.

I really am stumped on this :(

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10800
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
From where did you get SFML 2? Have setup everything as described in the tutorial?

Additionally you should learn what the whole process of linking/compiling does, maybe this helps...
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

cowchin12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Email
I got SFML 2.0 from the website, and I'm fairly sure everything is correct in the project properties, because my laptop has the exact same project configuration and runs SFML fine.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10800
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
If you use VS 2012 and the provided VS 2010 binaries, then it won't work and you'll have to recompile SFML.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

cowchin12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Email
Ok, so do I need to use Visual Studio 2010, or what do you mean by recompiling SFML?
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 12:31:17 am by cowchin12 »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10800
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Read the full post I linked in my first post, so you get an idea what 'compiling' and 'link' actually means...

Well if you want to use the provided binaries you'll have to use VS 2010, but if you recompile the whole library (download the source from GitHub and compile it), then you can use VS 2012.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

cowchin12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Email
I installed VS2010, and gave my VS2012 project a desperation run, and it worked. Thanks

 

anything