Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: OpenGL rendering in SFML2.0, questions.  (Read 1473 times)

pjuke

• View Profile
OpenGL rendering in SFML2.0, questions.
« on: January 15, 2013, 04:53:22 pm »
Hi!
I have worked a bit with SFML lately and creating small games. However, I've noticed there is ways of rendering content using OpenGL.

My question is; is it preferable to render my images with OpenGL, instead of just calling window.draw(myDrawable) on the screen? My game is just a simple 2D game and doesn't require 3D rendered graphics.

I was thinking of developing a small particle system for my game. I have looked at some exampels on the internet, and found that they render the particles (the sf::Image using getPixelsPtr()) using OpenGL. As I've read, doesn't SFML render the images with OpenGL by default? Using the sf::Rendertarget::draw() function?

I'm a beginner at games, please go easy on me.
But I'm trying to figure out if I should render my sprites using the sf::Image together with OpenGL, or just stick to the sf::Sprite and the default draw()-method. Since it both uses OpenGL I guess.

Thanks in advance.

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: OpenGL rendering in SFML2.0, questions.
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 05:32:13 pm »
My question is; is it preferable to render my images with OpenGL, instead of just calling window.draw(myDrawable) on the screen? My game is just a simple 2D game and doesn't require 3D rendered graphics.
Not really, since you'd only have to recreate what SFML already does. SFML uses OpenGL underneath to render anything, thus if you write your own rendering parts for 2D just to not use SFML, you'll basically end up rewriting code in probably a different way as SFML already has.