Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Trying to make sprites cleaner in code  (Read 775 times)

CloakedYoshi

• View Profile
    • Email
Trying to make sprites cleaner in code
« on: April 23, 2013, 09:40:43 am »
**Before ask for help, im a huge c++ noob, I just started taking classes for it, and figured i should start getting my feet wet by having some fun.**

So my issue is that if i want to make a 20+ sprites there is gonna be a very long list of my using

sf::Texture tex1;
sf::Texture tex2;
sf::Texture texN;

if (!tex1.loadFromFile("tex1.png"))
      return 1;
if (!tex2.loadFromFile("tex2.png"))
      return 1;
if (!texN.loadFromFile("texN.png"))

sf::Sprite spr1;
sf::Sprite spr2;
sf::Sprite sprN;

sprN.setTexture(texN);
ect...

since this action became so repetitive i figured their must be a way to make some kind of function... so i came up with this... which did not work because the i was declaring the textures and strings and sprites in the parameters... heres the fuction

void makeSprite(sf::Texture textureName, std::string fileName, sf::Sprite spriteName)
{
   sf::Texture(textureName);
   if (!textureName.loadFromFile(fileName))
      return;
   sf::Sprite spriteName;
   spriteName.setTexture(textureName);
}

am i on the right track, and just need to change something, or am I a total c++ newbie and i need to go a different direction/ i shouldnt even be doing this >.> thanks for the help! :P I hope i dont get raged at for being such a noob, my first post on the forum. This is more of a c++ language question then a SFML question but i think thats ok...

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Trying to make sprites cleaner in code
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 09:54:57 am »
Well you've already answered your question: You don't have enough knowledge on C++. ;)