Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [SOLVED]Issues with drawing a sprite  (Read 879 times)

Kiterosma

• View Profile
[SOLVED]Issues with drawing a sprite
« on: May 25, 2013, 09:13:51 am »
I'm very new to SFML and game programming in general, and I'm only just beginning to make a structure for a basic game. I made a class called Application which runs the main loop for the game. Then, I made an abstract class called Element which is responsible for updating game objects and drawing to the screen. The Menu object is a child of Element, which is what I'm using to represent the main menu. It's member variables, which it inherits from Element, are
Code: [Select]
vector<Drawable*> drawables;
RenderWindow * window;
And menu.cpp is provided here (there's some commented code from trying to debug):
#include "menu.h"
#include <iostream>

Menu::Menu(RenderWindow * w)
{
window = w;
buildMainMenu();
}

void Menu::draw()
{/*
for(int i=0; i<drawables.size(); i++)
{
window->draw(*drawables[i]);
cout<<"drawing"<<endl;
}*/
window->draw(*drawables[0]);
}

void Menu::update()
{
Event event;
while (window->pollEvent(event))
{
switch(event.type)
{
case Event::Closed: window->close();
break;
}
}
}

void Menu::buildMainMenu()
{
Drawable* background = new Sprite(preLoad::MainMenu);
drawables.push_back(background);
}