Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors  (Read 9943 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ixrec

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1241
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2013, 08:37:14 pm »
What program is failing to start?

(you need to provide way more information than that if you want us to figure out what's wrong)

TCVM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2013, 08:44:19 pm »
Sorry, I thought it was assumed when I said that. I was making the program in the tutorial here - http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/start-vc.php -. Now, I followed the tutorial step by step multiple times. Now, the program starts but that error code appears

Ixrec

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1241
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2013, 08:47:47 pm »
I thought it'd be one of the example programs that come with the source code.  In fact I had no idea VS was involved.

Did you compile it in debug mode?  Could you run it in debug mode so we get a meaningful error message?
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 08:50:44 pm by Ixrec »

TCVM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2013, 09:00:40 pm »
This is the only output I can find, otherwise the other error code I posted

Code: [Select]
'SFMLTestA.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Users\Brandon Danyluk\Desktop\C++ Game Making (SFML)\SFMLTestA\Debug\SFMLTestA.exe'. Symbols loaded.
'SFMLTestA.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'SFMLTestA.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\kernel32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'SFMLTestA.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\KernelBase.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'SFMLTestA.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\ProgramData\Norton\{0C55C096-0F1D-4F28-AAA2-85EF591126E7}\N360_20.3.0.36\Definitions\BASHDefs\20130903.002\UMEngx86.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
The program '[9460] SFMLTestA.exe' has exited with code -1073741701 (0xc000007b).

That is the only output I can find
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 09:02:13 pm by TheCanadianVendingMachine »

Ixrec

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1241
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2013, 09:38:05 pm »
It won't even tell you what statement it exits on?

Step through it with the debugger to get more info.

TCVM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #20 on: September 13, 2013, 09:44:03 pm »
No, it doesnt say what it ends on. I have no idea why. And I am running it with the debugger, and that's all that shows. Please do tell me if you mean something else

Also, the console loads (it is a console app), but it will just pop up an error box saying "The program '[4428] SFMLTestA.exe' has exited with code -1073741701 (0xc000007b)."

Cheers!
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 09:50:55 pm by TheCanadianVendingMachine »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10822
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2013, 09:57:32 pm »
Also, the console loads (it is a console app), but it will just pop up an error box saying "The program '[4428] SFMLTestA.exe' has exited with code -1073741701 (0xc000007b)."
Then you're most likely not running it through the debugger, otherwise the application would halt at the crash location.

Have you made sure that you don't mix debug/release modes/libraries?
You're still using the code from the tutorial, right?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

TCVM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #22 on: September 13, 2013, 10:05:59 pm »
sfml-graphics.lib is release, and sfml-graphics-d.lib is debug? If so, yes. And also, when using the release debug, thing,  it does error with
Code: [Select]
Error 1 error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'sfml-graphics.lib' C:\Users\Brandon Danyluk\Desktop\C++ Game Making (SFML)\SFMLTestA\SFMLTestA\LINK SFMLTestA
« Last Edit: September 14, 2013, 03:55:33 am by TheCanadianVendingMachine »

TCVM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #23 on: September 14, 2013, 10:35:15 pm »
Hello again, now when using release it says

Code: [Select]
The program can't start because sfml-graphics-2.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem
I have the file in my bin folder, and my folder where the exe is.

Ixrec

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1241
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #24 on: September 14, 2013, 10:53:32 pm »
I'm pretty sure the .dlls should be in the same folder as the .exe, not inside an additional folder.

TCVM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #25 on: September 14, 2013, 10:59:39 pm »
Thanks! It now works! Now, for future reference - Copy all DLL's to the executible. I just had to copy the DEBUG dlls aswell. As in sfml-graphics-d.dll.

Thanks for all the help!

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: When setting up SFML, produces alot of errors
« Reply #26 on: September 14, 2013, 11:17:51 pm »
Quote
Now, for future reference - Copy all DLL's to the executible.
Or just read the tutorials.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

 

anything