Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Using SFML in Sublime Text 3  (Read 7425 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Cayle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Using SFML in Sublime Text 3
« on: November 17, 2013, 06:42:02 pm »
Hey guys, I am an relatively advanced beginner in c++, and I feel I am ready to start working with graphics. I use sublime text 3 as my editor of choice, and would like to know how to use SFML through it. If someone could give a detailed description on that I would be super happy, thanks.

Jebbs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • DSFML Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Using SFML in Sublime Text 3
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 08:26:50 pm »
Well...Sublime Text is just a text editor. You would just write your header and code files like you would with any other text editor.

One thing you can do it set up a build system for it, but other than that, it doesn't need to be "set up" to be used with SFML.
DSFML - SFML for the D Programming Language.

Cayle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Using SFML in Sublime Text 3
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2013, 11:45:58 pm »
I know this is dumb, but could you give an example?

wintertime

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: Using SFML in Sublime Text 3
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 01:25:43 am »
You start it, type something in, save it as files with .hpp or .cpp extension if you want to program in C++.
A text editor does not include everything, you need to google on how to download and use an appropriate compiler, linker and maybe something of make/rake/cmake/...
Then you use the appropriate command for those tools to start them. They depend on what you use.
Then you fix errors using the editor.
You start the tools again.
Your program hopefully runs.
You improve it.
Repeat last 4 till you finished.

 

anything