Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: zmcEntitySystem - A Component-Entity System  (Read 3482 times)

Furkanzmc

• View Profile
zmcEntitySystem - A Component-Entity System
« on: March 27, 2014, 06:27:33 pm »
Hello guys. After getting into game development I started learning the principles and Component-Entity system is next in line. After reading articles and researching other systems I came up with this implementation of Component-Entity System and it's based on Artemis Entity System Framework. If you have time to have a look at it, I'd really appreciate your feedback. - https://github.com/Furkanzmc/zmcEntitySystem
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 06:29:18 pm by Furkanzmc »

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: zmcEntitySystem - A Component-Entity System
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2014, 07:24:24 pm »
Hi

Could you quickly describe the rough design and maybe show how it can be used?

Some random comments about the code:

E* createEntity(int groupIdentifier)
    {
        std::unique_ptr<BaseEntity> entity(new E());
        entity->setEntityID(mLastEntityID++);
        entity->setGroup(groupIdentifier);
        entity->setComponentManager(mComponentManager);
        mEntityMap.insert(std::make_pair(mLastEntityID , std::move(entity)));
        return dynamic_cast<E*>(mEntityMap.at(mLastEntityID).get());
    }
Avoid dynamic_cast, it's almost always a design mistake. Here, it's completely unnecessary; you could just store std::unique_ptr<E> and then use the derived-to-base conversion when inserting it to the map. In the other cases, you should rather assert that the dynamic type is correct and then use static_cast in release mode. Logic errors like expecting the wrong type must be recognized immediately, don't hide them by returning a null pointer.

You don't adhere to the Rule Of Three.