Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML Window Overlap Bug?  (Read 3439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Andrew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« on: May 01, 2014, 04:54:20 am »
I think I may have found a window overlap bug.

I'm on Windows 8 using c++ Win32 in Visual Studio 2012. I have two SFML windows that I have created, and I display, poll the next event, and clear for both windows in a loop, all in the same thread.

Here's how I can initiate the bug:
  • Window A is bigger than window B.
  • Window A is created last, meaning it shows up on top.
  • I click on window B in my taskbar; it appears in front like normal.
  • I try to click on the title bar of window B (and in the window itself as well), but nothing happens and none of the buttons on it work. I suspect that even though window A is in the background now it is still receiving the mouse events. (Keep reading and you'll see why this makes even more sense later on.)
  • If I move window A off of window B completely, window B then responds as expected.
  • I have also figured out how to get window B to respond while window A is mostly overlapping it. Here's how:
  • Drag window A slightly off of window B so there's at least 1 pixel of window B not covered by window A. Window A should now be in focus and in the foreground.
  • Click on window B in the taskbar. As before, window B seems unresponsive.
  • Move the mouse over the sliver of window B that is uncovered (no overlap), e.g. as if to resize it. No clicks necessary; just move the mouse over it.
  • Now window B responds to the mouse as expected.
Here's some illustrations:

(1-4)
 ________
|    ___     |
|   |     |    |
|   |___|    |
|________|

(5)
 ________
|               |   ___
|               |  |     |
|               |  |___|
|________|

(6-10)
 ________
|           __|_
|          |     |
|          |___|
|________|

Did I do something wrong, or have I truly discovered a bug? How can I fix it, or can you fix it please? :)

Also, another note: this is not just about the windows' creations; it happens over and over again if the process is repeated without restarting the program.

Thanks,

- Andrew
« Last Edit: May 01, 2014, 05:00:46 am by Andrew »

zsbzsb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Active Maintainer of CSFML/SFML.NET
    • View Profile
    • My little corner...
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2014, 04:57:49 am »
Sounds like another side affect of the hurried "fix" that was released in 2.1 that was supposed to fix a few other issues.. Try compiling SFML from source and see if that fixes the issue.  ;)
Motion / MotionNET - Complete video / audio playback for SFML / SFML.NET

NetEXT - An SFML.NET Extension Library based on Thor

Andrew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2014, 05:17:25 am »
I would if Github would let me download it...

zsbzsb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Active Maintainer of CSFML/SFML.NET
    • View Profile
    • My little corner...
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2014, 02:37:28 pm »
I would if Github would let me download it...

What is the problem?
Motion / MotionNET - Complete video / audio playback for SFML / SFML.NET

NetEXT - An SFML.NET Extension Library based on Thor

Andrew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2014, 04:47:46 pm »
Every attempt I make to download it through Github by zip or git does not even start most of the time and finish sometimes.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10801
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2014, 10:06:41 am »
Sounds like an issue on your end. Works fine for everyone else...
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2014, 10:10:32 am »
There was apparently an issue with archives, but they already fixed it 10 days ago.

https://twitter.com/githubstatus
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Andrew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2014, 08:49:42 pm »
Well, I downloaded it. I didn't realize I'd have to CMake it. I've never had success with CMake...

zsbzsb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Active Maintainer of CSFML/SFML.NET
    • View Profile
    • My little corner...
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2014, 08:52:24 pm »
If you can't follow this then maybe you should find something else to pass your time. Because its way too complicated to compile SFML  :P
Motion / MotionNET - Complete video / audio playback for SFML / SFML.NET

NetEXT - An SFML.NET Extension Library based on Thor

Andrew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2014, 09:28:32 pm »
Yep, I got errors at the configuration process.

It amazes me how anyone else gets these things to work given that I have a standard installation and I followed the instructions. Oh well. I'll wait until 2.2 or whatever.

Jesper Juhl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SFML Window Overlap Bug?
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2014, 09:35:11 pm »
Yep, I got errors at the configuration process.

It amazes me how anyone else gets these things to work given that I have a standard installation and I followed the instructions. Oh well. I'll wait until 2.2 or whatever.

1. If you don't quote the exact errors you get then no one can help you.

2. In my experience SFML is *extremely* easy to build, as long as you have the proper prerequisite tools and libraries in place it's usually as simple as running  cmake ; make ; make install  and you are all done in less than 5 minutes.
But let's see those error messages so we can actually try and help.

 

anything