Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: New install of Qt 5.2.1 and SFML 2.1  (Read 5570 times)

glennp

• View Profile
New install of Qt 5.2.1 and SFML 2.1
« on: May 13, 2014, 07:27:10 pm »
I'm not entirely sure where this question should go.  Since this is my first attempt at building a project with this configuration I thought I would put it in General.  It may belong in Window.

I have installed Qt.5.2.1 based on MVSC 2010, 32bit.  I also have installed SFML 2.1 based on MVSC 2010, 32bit.  I am new to Qt and Qt Creator but have been building successful example projects for a couple weeks now.  I am a Java programmer with some C++ education in the past.  I'm just now getting into it in a serious way.  My development is for a specific application that will run only in a windows 7 environment.  I needed access to Joystick input.  After several days of research I came across SFML.  It appears to be just what I am looking for. 

I set up a very simple project in Qt with a main window.  In the MainWindow constructor I put the following code:

if(sf::Joystick::isConnected(0))
        qDebug() << "Joystick 1 is connected";
    else
        qDebug() << "Can't find a joystick";

The include is:
#include <SFML/Window.hpp>

In my project file I have:
LIBS += -L"C:/SFML-2.1/lib/" -lsfml-window-d

INCLUDEPATH += "C:/SFML-2.1/include"
DEPENDPATH += "C:/SFML-2.1/include"

It builds without error.  However when I try to run it from Qt Creator it crashes.  The actual messages are:

Starting D:\QT-Projects\examples\build-JoystickSFML-Desktop_Qt_5_2_1_MSVC2010_32bit_OpenGL-Debug\debug\JoystickSFML.exe...
The program has unexpectedly finished.
D:\QT-Projects\examples\build-JoystickSFML-Desktop_Qt_5_2_1_MSVC2010_32bit_OpenGL-Debug\debug\JoystickSFML.exe crashed

What am I doing wrong?

Flash

• View Profile
Re: New install of Qt 5.2.1 and SFML 2.1
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2014, 10:47:21 pm »