Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: How much do you need to know to create something like SFML?  (Read 6923 times)

ineed.help

• View Profile
As a new programmer, I've been overwhelmed by the ridiculous complexity of modern PCs. Just writing code in your average high-level language with someone else's API is easy enough, but I've been asking myself the question of how much do you really need to know to create something like SFML? Do you have to know how all the transistors in the PC works? (Sorry if I sound amateurish, but I am an amateur.)

This question is specifically addressed to SFML's creator, but if someone with his level of knowledge regarding the subject has an answer for me, that's fine, too.

ChronicRat

• C++ programmer
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: How much do you need to know to create something like SFML?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2014, 05:49:56 pm »
You need not to know but learn. No one can just create Doom without any experience. Start from simple console "guess number", write your own "crosses and zeroes" in text mode, then convert it to graphics mode.

zsbzsb

• Active Maintainer of CSFML/SFML.NET
    • View Profile
    • My little corner...
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2014, 06:08:13 pm »
TL:DR - programmers use abstractions and "black boxes" all the time when coding, so to write something like SFML you do not need to understand every single level of a computer.