Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Automatic batching in sfml2 branch  (Read 27584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2009, 04:01:10 pm »
Quote
The FPS are not the problem (I usually cap them and use VSync if possible), but the framedrops definitely are. They occur at random times.

Sorry I don't get it. What do you mean with "framedrops"?

Quote
I wonder why it doesn't take full cpu

Probably because now the GPU usage is optimized, and the CPU can do something else than bothering the graphics driver while the geometry is rendered. So, I'd say that this is rather a good thing ;)

Quote
There should be a note in the docs

The documentation hasn't been written yet (I mean the tutorials) :)

Quote
or even range checking if the performance penalty isn't too high

The performance penalty is high. In this part of the code, every instruction I add has an impact on performances.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Avency

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2009, 04:16:04 pm »
Lets take the opengl sample: most of the time the cube rotates smoothly, but sometimes it stops and for a short time, as if it was rendered at a very low framerate (like if you're playing a game that your pc cannot handle, you can actually see the single frames).

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2009, 04:37:39 pm »
Ok, I see.

Unfortunately this doesn't happen to me at all. What OS are you using?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Avency

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2009, 07:15:19 pm »
It only seems to happen on Linux.
I made a Windows build, but I'm unable to reproduce the problem (the hardware is the same).

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2009, 10:12:09 pm »
Ok, I'll try it on Linux and let you know if I get the same problem.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Tank

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1486
    • View Profile
    • Blog
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2009, 07:18:55 pm »
Any update on the font texture issue? Would be nice to have sharp strings, again. ;)

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2009, 07:28:32 pm »
Sorry, I didn't have time to work on it.

You should use the previous revision, this one was just released to test the new batching feature.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Tank

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1486
    • View Profile
    • Blog
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2009, 08:06:14 pm »
Okay, no problem. Thanks.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #23 on: October 01, 2009, 09:04:21 am »
Quote from: "Tank"
Any update on the font texture issue? Would be nice to have sharp strings, again. ;)

It's fixed, and the quality is even slightly better than before (but you probably won't be able to notice it) ;)
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Tank

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1486
    • View Profile
    • Blog
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #24 on: October 01, 2009, 05:48:45 pm »
Thanks a lot. And you're right, the quality IS better. Is it possible that the edges got a bit sharper? But that's maybe happening because of your rounding code.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2009, 06:13:29 pm »
Quote
Is it possible that the edges got a bit sharper?

No, unless I implement my own anti-aliasing filter.
I tried all the combinations of Freetype's antialiasing on/off and OpenGL's texture filtering on/off, they were all worse than the current solution.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Tank

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1486
    • View Profile
    • Blog
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2009, 06:34:50 pm »
Okay. Then it's nevertheless a nice placebo. ;)

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2009, 07:52:07 pm »
Quote from: "Avency"
Lets take the opengl sample: most of the time the cube rotates smoothly, but sometimes it stops and for a short time, as if it was rendered at a very low framerate (like if you're playing a game that your pc cannot handle, you can actually see the single frames).

I couldn't reproduce this bug on my own Linux. All the samples are running smoothly all the time.
Let's wait and see if someone else gets the same issue :?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Avency

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #28 on: October 03, 2009, 10:00:36 pm »
I see. I'm going to make a fresh Linux install.
I'll let you know if it makes any difference (new drivers etc.).

Avency

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Automatic batching in sfml2 branch
« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2009, 01:50:44 pm »
Well, here's the result: it still happens, although it's a lot less noticable than it used to be.
I'm now runnig the latest Ubuntu beta, the graphics card is a nvidia 8800gtx. The driver version is 185.18.36.
Everytime it happens, the cpu usage goes down in the process viewer.
The application now shows up with 64% cpu (I think they changed to relative cpu usage to core usage) usage which drops to ~40% every time it happens (used to show around 15% with drops to 1-2%, this probably explains why its less noticable now). The opengl sample now uses 44% and drops to 30% cpu.
But lets wait if someone else notices the same (and who knows, the problem may disappear before a final 2.0 release :)).