Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Storing the array of RectangleShapes in an array  (Read 5612 times)

xx_Dan_xx

• View Profile
Storing the array of RectangleShapes in an array
« on: January 20, 2015, 05:28:28 pm »
Hi, I started learning C++ in September and I am beginning to get to grips with SFML.

I have created four arrays of RectangleShapes as so:

RectangleShape Player1Board[10][10];
RectangleShape Player2Board[10][10];
RectangleShape Player3Board[10][10];
RectangleShape Player4Board[10][10];

I want to store these arrays in another array but I am not sure how to do that without referring to a particular element in one of the arrays.

Basically here is the non-code version of what I want;

Array Boards[4] = {Player1Board, Player2Board, Player3Board, Player4Board}

I want to do this so in another function I can manipulate one of the boards by passing one integer rather than all four boards and then determining which one I want to mess with.

« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 11:30:20 pm by xx_Dan_xx »

Hapax

• My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
Re: Storing the array of RectangleShapes in an array
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 06:09:12 pm »
That is 400 RectangleShapes and, because you are using an array, they're all stored on the stack, which is limited. You are risking overloading the stack and therefore causing a crash. You could (should) rewrite it to use an STL container; the standard choice of vector should work perfectly for you here. This uses the heap (or "free store") and is only limited really limited by the amount of RAM. Vectors can also be resized during runtime.

First, you need to #include <vector>
Then, you can create them as two-dimensional and initialised with your sizes like this:
std::vector<std::vector<sf::RectangleShape>> Player1Board(10, std::vector<sf::RectangleShape>(10));