Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Freeing a sprite from memory  (Read 4350 times)

olafurw

• View Profile
Freeing a sprite from memory
« on: November 15, 2009, 03:51:32 am »
I saw another post that stated that "You have nothing to do except properly managing the lifetime of your instances."

Since I'm new with SFML I'm wondering how I would go by doing this.

I have a vector of missiles.

Code: [Select]

struct missile
{
sf::Sprite Sprite;
float angle;
};

std::vector<missile> vMissiles;

vMissiles.push_back(Missile);

This all works fine and dandy, but what I'm worried about is when the missile exits the screen, I want to free it from memory. I'm seeing the executable grow in memory for each shot I do.

Currently I'm just not drawing them anymore, but what else can I do?

OniLinkPlus

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2009, 04:18:51 am »
You should use a vector of pointers to Missiles, then push_back(new missile Missile(constructorarguments));
When you exit the game, make a piece of code that iterates through the vector, deleting each Missile as you go, and then clear the vector at the end with vector.clear(). You can also create a function for this that you can run at any time to clear it out.
I use the latest build of SFML2

dunce

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 05:29:55 am »
For entities with short life like missiles and bullets you can create a pool of constructed objects to avoid lots of time-consuming construction-destruction operations.

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2009, 09:23:00 am »
Just remove your missile from the vector when it exits the screen. There's no need to dynamically allocate/free them, but maybe a std::list would be more relevant than a std::vector (less internal copies, faster removal, easy to iterate sequentially).
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Nexus

• SFML Team