Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: What strategies/learning techniques helped you in learning game development  (Read 5868 times)

The New Guy

• View Profile
    • Email
I find myself struggling to "learn" game development.

I have read and studied many books/tutorials(and when I say many its been two-three years of tutorials books). The only issue I see is I haven't been doing it religiously, will take breaks, etc. I find myself not grasping concepts as well I think I should, making silly mistakes with time-based movement, animation, etc.
I am a intermediate programmer and do so for work. What did/do you do to learn game development apart from just finding a tutorial and book and going with it? Right now I am going through a SFML book and I am going to try to just make pong from scratch once finishing the book. Already I ran into a issue with time based movement and had to go back to examples.

Thanks for any and all input!

-Austin

Edit: Also just to clarify, this isn't a topic on how to develop games, but what strategies,tools, learning techniques did you use to better help your understanding.

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Make projects.

It's as simple as that; you get the most experience when applying the theoretical concepts in practice. Don't just do what books expect from you, experiment on your own. Start with simple games, and finish them. Learn from mistakes, try to do things differently when you think it makes sense. Even if you don't feel like doing so "because it works so far". Don't just choose the simplest way, question your approaches and risk new things.