Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Some issues (SFML 1.5)  (Read 3972 times)

auriplane

• MSN Messenger - crystal@panix.com
    • AOL Instant Messenger - auriplane
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - auriplane
    • View Profile
    • http://www.xtalcy.com/
Some issues (SFML 1.5)
« on: November 20, 2009, 03:28:03 pm »
Hi!  I am still new to SFML, but I have had a few problems.

1. Tilde, PrintScreen, ScrollLock, and NumLock all generate key code 0 on Linux and OSX.  On Windows, Tilde is okay.

2. Sound doesn't work at all in OSX 1.5 for me, on my PPC powerbook.  Specifically, sound files fail to load; the examples from this site fail in the exact same way.  This is the (only) message:

Failed to load sound buffer from file "sound.wav"

I tried debugging this, so I built debug versions of SFML, and it seems like it is failing inside libsndfile.  I am using the version of libsndfile from this site; when I downloaded libsndfile and built it myself, the examples included were able to load the same files.  However, I don't know how to build a .dylib, so I could not test or debug to find out why it was failing.

3. Since SFML lacks the "capture mouse" function of SDL, my game resets the mouse to the center of the window on every frame, then calculates the delta.  (I saw this suggested here on the forum.)  This works great on Linux and Windows.  However, on OSX, every time the mouse cursor position is reset, it (appears to) ignore all mouse movement for approx 0.25 seconds.  So, I cannot use the mouse at all on my program on OSX, unless the frame rate drops below 4 per second!

4. As posted elsewhere, my PS3 controller causes problems on Linux.  I have not really tried to debug this, apart from noticing it cause an infinite number of events, all of which are JoyMoved to 0 on one of two axes.  It does not cause this problem on Windows.

Ceylo

• View Profile
    • http://sfemovie.yalir.org/
    • Email