Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Why is Render Window appearing blank?  (Read 4410 times)

tonyd5

• View Profile
Why is Render Window appearing blank?
« on: October 05, 2015, 04:03:32 am »
Hi I'm pretty new to sfml and new to this forum so this might be a stupid question...

I'm gradually adding functionality and objects to Render Window.

Then, every so often the window will appear as blank when I run the code.

Begins to happen more and more frequent as keep adding objects to the window.

I fixed the issue by having the window open on a button press event vs opening as soon main() starts running.

What I think is happening is that the code that is setting up the all the object positions and behavior is taking to long and the window gets stuck at event poles that include code dependent on objects and variables that are still in process of being declared.

^^Is that what is happening? Should I include some sort of delay mechanism before displaying a Render Window as a good practice?

I have screen shots attach to show what I am talking about.

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: Why is Render Window appearing blank?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2015, 07:14:38 am »
Please provide a minimal complete example.

Make sure you adhere to the clear-draw-display cycle as outlined in the tutorial. It must be followed.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

tonyd5

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2015, 01:52:49 am »
The code for this window is a thousand lines or so... But this is how it is laid out:

int main()
{

win=sf::RenderWindow("name",----);

/*  Do many more things  */       

while(1)
       {
                 void Pole_Events_for_Window_Function(sf::RenderWindow& win, &(many more varables));

/*  Pole_Events for other windows   */

}

}