Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running  (Read 7238 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

benschg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • ICQ Messenger - 20609351
    • View Profile
    • http://www.virtamed.com
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« on: December 11, 2009, 10:21:43 am »
I experienced a problem with Logitech Setpoint 4.80.
When I have the application running my program does not start up with the exception:
Code: [Select]
Unhandled exception at 0x779bdba8 in MyApp.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x001a0ffc.
Program Output:
Code: [Select]
First-chance exception at 0x779bdbf9 in MyApp.exe: 0xC00000FD: Stack overflow.
'MyApp.exe': Unloaded 'C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\lgscroll.dll'
'MyApp.exe': Loaded 'C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\lgscroll.dll'
First-chance exception at 0x779bdba8 in ArthroSim.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x001a0ffc.
Unhandled exception at 0x779bdba8 in ArthroSim.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x001a0ffc.


I am using sfml 1.5 on Windows 7 and Visual Studio 2008 (professional and team versions).

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2009, 10:25:34 am »
Can you use the debugger to get more useful informations about the crash?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

benschg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • ICQ Messenger - 20609351
    • View Profile
    • http://www.virtamed.com
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2009, 10:46:40 am »
Quote from: "Laurent"
Can you use the debugger to get more useful informations about the crash?


Sadly I cannot because the application crashes before the main method is invoked or any static members of my application are initialized. I am compiling in full debug mode, and tried it with all the same compile-/link- settings as SFML-system-d.dll uses.

All I get is Assembler code from ntdll.dll such as:
Code: [Select]
ntdll.dll!779bdca9()
[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for ntdll.dll]
ntdll.dll!779bdc02()
...

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2009, 10:55:33 am »
Where does the callstack begin (the last item)? Is the crash located in another thread?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

benschg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • ICQ Messenger - 20609351
    • View Profile
    • http://www.virtamed.com
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2009, 11:01:26 am »
Quote from: "Laurent"
Where does the callstack begin (the last item)? Is the crash located in another thread?

There are two threads in the application:
Code: [Select]
0 2844 Main Thread Main Thread 779bda43 Normal 0
0 > 2712 Worker Thread Win32 Thread 779a64f4 Normal 0


Main Thread has this call stack:
Code: [Select]
> ntdll.dll!779bda43()
  [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for ntdll.dll]
  ntdll.dll!779bdc45()
  ntdll.dll!779bdb31()
  ntdll.dll!779be012()
  ntdll.dll!779bde9b()
  ntdll.dll!779be48c()
  ntdll.dll!779be331()
  ntdll.dll!779be6ad()
  ntdll.dll!779be899()
  ntdll.dll!779be786()
  ntdll.dll!779bea19()
  ntdll.dll!779be79e()
  ntdll.dll!779b3426()
  ntdll.dll!779b34ca()
  ntdll.dll!779b34ca()
  ntdll.dll!779b34ca()
  ntdll.dll!779b28c8()
  ntdll.dll!779b28fb()
  KernelBase.dll!75b36d5c()
  msvcr80.dll!758e2c18()

folowed by more or less the same for quite a while

Worker thread has this call stack:
Code: [Select]

> ntdll.dll!779a64f4()
  [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for ntdll.dll]
  ntdll.dll!779a4c1c()
  ntdll.dll!779c7b1c()
  ntdll.dll!779bb2c5()


The output in the debug console of Visual Studio stops as mentioned above when loading the logitech SetPoint lgscroll.dll[/code]

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2009, 11:39:37 am »
Did you try using another version of SetPoint?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

benschg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • ICQ Messenger - 20609351
    • View Profile
    • http://www.virtamed.com
crash when starting up while Logitech Setpoint is running
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2009, 12:11:04 pm »
No, I did not try it yet, but I cannot find another version that supports my mouse and Windows 7.

However while developing I can just close the SetPoint software and it works. But this is just a workaround.
I will contact Logitech about this too. Maybe they can help  :idea: