Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: VMWare Pro/player 12  (Read 4097 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

starcatcher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
VMWare Pro/player 12
« on: November 23, 2015, 10:37:05 pm »
When attempting this line of code...

sf::RenderWindow window(sf::VideoMode(200,200), "SFML works!");

I get a setting vertical sync failed error.

VMWare Pro/player 12

Hapax

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3379
  • My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
Re: VMWare Pro/player 12
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 10:45:37 pm »
There is not really very much information to use here.

Please have a look at this thread.
Selba Ward -SFML drawables
Cheese Map -Drawable Layered Tile Map
Kairos -Timing Library
Grambol
 *Hapaxia Links*

Jesper Juhl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: VMWare Pro/player 12
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 10:46:26 pm »
Also; virtual machines are not officially supported.
So if it breaks, you get to keep the pieces...
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 10:54:13 pm by Jesper Juhl »

starcatcher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMWare Pro/player 12
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 10:51:36 pm »
There is not really very much information to use here.

Please have a look at this thread.

That is literally the only line of code that is in main...

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

int main() {

    sf::RenderWindow window(sf::VideoMode(200,200), "SFML Works!");
    return 0;
}

windows 10, the vm is running ubuntu LTS 14

Hapax

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3379
  • My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
Re: VMWare Pro/player 12
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2015, 11:00:38 pm »
Please use [code=cpp]...[/code] tags.

As mentioned in the thread that I linked, some information about the problem you are actually having is necessary. "I get a setting vertical sync failed error" is not very much information. Which vertical sync error? What happened? Did it post the error to the console but still work? Did it crash? What did the crash report say?

Does the code work in the original environment (Windows 10) or does the error occur in both environments (Windows and Ubuntu)?
Selba Ward -SFML drawables
Cheese Map -Drawable Layered Tile Map
Kairos -Timing Library
Grambol
 *Hapaxia Links*

starcatcher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMWare Pro/player 12
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2015, 11:05:52 pm »
Please use [code=cpp]...[/code] tags.

As mentioned in the thread that I linked, some information about the problem you are actually having is necessary. "I get a setting vertical sync failed error" is not very much information. Which vertical sync error? What happened? Did it post the error to the console but still work? Did it crash? What did the crash report say?

Does the code work in the original environment (Windows 10) or does the error occur in both environments (Windows and Ubuntu)?

It is not actually an error, it just displays red in the console... should I just not worry about it?  I used the word error erroneously =), I think it may just be a warning?

Anyway, the code is fine in windows.  However, I do not believe that is relevant(different paths, architectures, etc.)

Mario

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 879
    • View Profile
Re: VMWare Pro/player 12
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2015, 08:51:24 pm »
It's just a warning, possibly by the "display driver". Don't worry about it, it shouldn't happen on non-vm installations.