Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: New user, first project - physics sim - particles in a box (various settings)  (Read 3526 times)

stuart88

• View Profile
    • Email
Hi all

I couldn't find an 'intros/newbies' area here so figured I'd dive in here with my first post!

I'm a student of physics and recently got into the idea of putting basic (or complex) physics principles into my own simulators.

So to start I've just thrown together a little attempt at simulating particles in a box. It consists of a larger red (player) ball which you can move around to collide with other particles in the box. Manipulable settings include player mass, particle mass, gravity strength, number of particles, 'anti-gravity' player ball, 'freeze' the particles, and - my favourite - turn on electric fields around all the particles so they repel each other.

There's no 'gaming' element to it, but I'm pleased nonetheless as I've seen that it's possible to quite easily put physics into games. My next effort will probably be something relating to quantum mechanics or fluid dynamics. I'm in the process of learning geophysical fluid dynamics now too so in future I hope to do some basic planetary simulations (in 3D?), where the user can do things like set the rotation speed, gravity, density of atmosphere, generate clouds or ocean currents etc. Along the way I might have a go at making some games out of these things too.

Anyway, here's my first little project  :) - https://github.com/Stuart88/Particles

Full executable is available in the RAR archive on GitHub, or alternatively the source code is there along with the necessary font and sprite files

(click to show/hide)

JayhawkZombie

• View Profile
Cool man!

If you want to render a ton of particles, I might recommend instanced rendering: https://learnopengl.com/#!Advanced-OpenGL/Instancing