Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: The 'new' keyword, factory patterns  (Read 4531 times)

Walker

• View Profile
The 'new' keyword, factory patterns
« on: January 23, 2010, 05:07:28 pm »
I am trying to learn about object creation and factory patterns. I understand that you have a class that contains functions to create new objects and I would hope it tracks the individual objects somehow.

Does the factory pattern take care of keeping track of the objects? Do you use the new keyword to do the actual creation? I have never used this keyword before. I would like to see an example in C++ and any other tips you may have would be greatly apprectiated.

Cheers

gsaurus

• View Profile
    • Evolution Engine
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 12:21:43 am »
I never read or seen an example to guide myself and decided to do it by myself.

On my project's prototype I had a static class responsible for the game data storage, with tables about the objects already loaded. I was referring to them by their filename, a string. Maybe not the best option, but worked fine for a first try. Each time I needed to create a new object (that can even be composed of several objects), I call a static method requesting for that object, like getCharacter(fileName),  getAnimation(filename), etc. it looks at the table, if exists, return, if not, load it from file, and all of it's components. This dynamic approach can be bad if I need an object in real time on the middle of the game, it's loading time can ruin the game. However I always load them some time before I need them, like at start of level or perhaps in a thread some seconds before I need it (on the proto I just load them all at start of scene)