Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Question on window tutorial  (Read 10771 times)

bnz

• View Profile
Question on window tutorial
« on: January 21, 2010, 08:15:06 pm »
Hello,

I'm new to SFML and also quite new to C++ in general, so I tried the official tutorials as a start.
However I'm now stuck at the tutorial on creating windows. I compiles fine (using MSVC++ 2010 beta2 and the code included in the tutorial), but when I start the application I get the following message:
"Unhandled exception at 0x75f19f11 in SFML Window.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x6e695720."

When I start the exe directly from the Windows Explorer it simply says that the exe doesn't work anylonger.
I'm using Windows 7, by the way.

Do I need Qt or wxWidgets to succesfully run this program? Do you have any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,
bnz

Mr. X

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 08:59:32 pm »
Have you linked the correct Libs? (-d for Debug)...

bnz

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 09:20:35 pm »
Yes, at least I think so.
Here are two screenshots of the properties:

In the folder, where the executable is located, I added the sfml-window-d.dll and the sfml-system-d.dll.

bnz

Flawe

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 11:46:28 pm »
You're linking only to window and main, not system. Add sfml-system-d.lib to the list.

bnz

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2010, 10:03:23 am »
Unfortunately that didn't change anything.
The exeption is thrown at the following line:
Code: [Select]
sf::Window App(sf::VideoMode(800, 600, 32), "SFML Window");

By the way: Why did I have to link to smfl-system-d? Wouldn't the compiler complain if something was missing?

bnz

EDIT: Just for the fun of it, I tried to link to the non-debug versions of the librarys and after copying the needed dlls into the executable's folder it worked.