Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: another SFML book -- Beginning C++ Game Programming  (Read 8071 times)

jamesL

• View Profile
another SFML book -- Beginning C++ Game Programming
« on: October 20, 2016, 05:01:55 am »
I have a subscription to packtpub.
So I get to download pdf versions of their books.

I just a new SFML book that was just released.

https://www.packtpub.com/game-development/beginning-c-game-programming

from a quick look it seems to be geared towards new C++ programmers (explains variables, loops and so on - but doesn't seem very focused on the "newer" C++ stuff - smart pointers and the like - so it's more of a C with objects book)

you build a clone of
http://store.steampowered.com/app/398710/

and a very basic version of
http://store.steampowered.com/app/273500/

and also
http://store.steampowered.com/app/220780/

they get a little into shaders towards the end of the book

and here's the
Table of Contents

1: C++, SFML, VISUAL STUDIO, AND STARTING THE FIRST GAME
2: VARIABLES, OPERATORS, AND DECISIONS – ANIMATING SPRITES
3: C++ STRINGS, SFML TIME, PLAYER INPUT, AND HUD
4: LOOPS, ARRAYS, SWITCH, ENUMERATIONS, AND FUNCTIONS – IMPLEMENTING GAME MECHANICS
5: COLLISIONS, SOUND, AND END CONDITIONS – MAKING THE GAME PLAYABLE
6: OBJECT-ORIENTED PROGRAMMING, CLASSES, AND SFML VIEWS
7: C++ REFERENCES, SPRITE SHEETS, AND VERTEX ARRAYS
8: POINTERS, THE STANDARD TEMPLATE LIBRARY, AND TEXTURE MANAGEMENT
9: COLLISION DETECTION, PICKUPS, AND BULLETS
10: LAYERING VIEWS AND IMPLEMENTING THE HUD
11: SOUND EFFECTS, FILE I/O, AND FINISHING THE GAME
12: ABSTRACTION AND CODE MANAGEMENT – MAKING BETTER USE OF OOP
13: ADVANCED OOP – INHERITANCE AND POLYMORPHISM
14: BUILDING PLAYABLE LEVELS AND COLLISION DETECTION
15: SOUND SPATIALIZATION AND HUD
16: EXTENDING SFML CLASSES, PARTICLE SYSTEMS, AND SHADERS
17: BEFORE YOU GO...

mjtilbrook1

• View Profile
    • Email