Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Chosing the proper binary for Centos7 or ScientificLinux7  (Read 2001 times)

georgios_doumas

• View Profile
    • Email
Chosing the proper binary for Centos7 or ScientificLinux7
« on: January 25, 2018, 04:27:09 pm »
Hello all. I am new to SFML , and I intend to use it on Scientific Linux 7.4 , so I went  to the tutorial "SFML and Linux" and started reading. When I realized that my distribution does not have a package to do an easy :     sudo yum install <sfml-package-name>
(once again I envy Debian for providing one!)
I thought "ok , I will install from source" , but when I start reading "Compiling SFML with CMake" , and after I finished with downloading as much as I could of the dependencies (I had to be creative about the names of the packages, and always preferred to download more to be on the safe side) , then I realized that the screenshots for Cmake were for Windows machines. So I thought to avoid continuing, because I would never be sure if what I do is correct.
And thus I decided to use the precompiled binaries of the Download page. I started with 2.4.2 , downloaded it and untared it , and the step of
g++ -c main.cpp -I<sfml-install-path>/include
was OK but  but when I tried to do the next step
g++ main.o -o sfml-app -L<sfml-install-path>/lib -lsfml-graphics -lsfml-window -lsfml-system
I got complains about libjpeg.so.8 needed , then I downloaded a relevant package from www.rpmfind.net  ( I found an .rpm from opensuse )
but still I got another complain about GLIBCXX_3.4.20 , so it seems that the version of libstdc++ that centos7.4 and Scientific Linux have, can provide only up to GLIBCXX_3.4.19 , and could not install a separate version of libstdc++ from rpmfind.net ( I downloaded one version from rpmfind.net, coming from Fedora , but the command rpm -i failed due to dependency missing, so I gave up).