Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: C++ Newbie, using SFML to create "D&D 3.5 Adventure Creator"  (Read 3995 times)

Iraser

• View Profile
C++ Newbie, using SFML to create "D&D 3.5 Adventure Creator"
« on: August 31, 2017, 09:40:18 pm »
EDIT 9/8/2017
{

I have uploaded the .rar containing my project. Feel free to look at it, I have decided I want to work on some more tutorials, and the next iteration will be with SFML & openGL.

Please keep in mind, I just started coding in c++ about 30 days ago. I have lots more to learn.

I'll be back hopefully in a few weeks with what I have learned.

}

I am new to c++ and still working on many of the basics.

2 modes
 -Play
 -Editor

Current Features
World is 3d Matrix (2d graphics setup and drawn in a 3dish manner);
-Optimized drawing, only drawing what you see
-Height Map that blocks certain height (see the transparent blocks in one screenshot)
As many playable characters as you want (With Clickable selection)
Active character have a selection ring that is always on the ground lowest to you (Give a sense of perspective).
Shadows working based on terrain.
rotate 3d matrix implemented (Holy Bananas batman, that was hard as nails!!! 3 days to figure that out)

Many block colors to choose from (working on optimizing 400-800 color selections with certain color ranges having certain effects IE water, FOG, crumbling rock.

100% collision in all 3 dimensions.

Objects(tables, chairs, lamps, doors and other interact-able objects) are implemented, just have not written code to save/display them (uses same collision code).

I went from nothing, to this in 2 weeks of time. I have a lot more to do, but it is coming along nicely. My code is a mess, but I am slowly reformatting as I learn more.

-Thanks

« Last Edit: September 08, 2017, 01:23:19 pm by Iraser »

Hapax

• My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links