Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: How to handle collision for multiple objects efficiently ?  (Read 3716 times)

Shamlei

• View Profile
How to handle collision for multiple objects efficiently ?
« on: August 21, 2017, 01:45:35 am »
Hey I'm currently making an arkanoid clone, I'm not very experienced with C++ and just started with SFML so I think I'm not doing the right thing here.

My ball is checking for collision in it's update function (that handles movement and collisions.)

I've excluded the movement, here's the collision with the paddle bit :
void Ball::update(float deltaTime, Paddle &paddle)
{
        sf::FloatRect playerBox(paddle.getBoundingBox()); // Paddle bounding box
        m_boundingBox = m_shape.getGlobalBounds(); // ball bounding box

// Collision check with paddle
        if (m_boundingBox.intersects(playerBox))
        {
                std::cout << "Colliding" << std::endl;
        }
}

Now this works but the problem is that I have to give the player's bounding box to the function, It's not a problem as of right now but since there's dozens of boxes in Arkanoid I'll have to feed dozens of boxes to the function.

My thought was to store every box in a vector and iterate over it to check if the ball is colliding with a box inside the vector.

That's a fix but it doesn't look very efficient, is there a way to make it better ?

Thanks to those who will help.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2017, 02:21:51 am by Shamlei »

Tigre Pablito

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to handle collision for multiple objects efficiently ?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2017, 03:18:24 am »
hi Shamlei

I give you my ideas of how make your 'arkanoid' simpler and more efficient ...

You have these objects:
1) player's paddle, 2) ball, 3) boxes, 4) list<> or 'vector' that contains all boxes, 5) game board

What of these objects is who interacts with all of others? The ball