Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
. Did you miss your
activation email?
French forum
Home
Help
Search
Login
Register
SFML community forums
»
Help
»
General
»
Can I pull events without having a window?
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Author
Topic: Can I pull events without having a window? (Read 1916 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Grime
Newbie
Posts: 13
Can I pull events without having a window?
«
on:
February 20, 2019, 11:16:07 am »
I need to pull events without having a visible window. Can this be done without a window class? If I need to have a window class can I have it be hidden and always taking events even when it's not active?
I want this because: standard library of C++ doesn't allow taking of input without 'enter' following the input. So I was hoping SFML could help me with it.
Of course I could probably use SFML for the entire project but I'm only doing simple stuff.
Can I pull events from regular console that pops up when you run a C++ program (I use windows, so presumably we're talking about the windows console).
(While using SFML)
«
Last Edit: February 20, 2019, 11:27:51 am by Grime
»
Logged
eXpl0it3r
SFML Team
Hero Member
Posts: 11030
Re: Can I pull events without having a window?
«
Reply #1 on:
February 20, 2019, 02:15:54 pm »
No, you can't poll events without a window. Even if you hide the window, you won't get events when you don't have the window in focus.
You can use sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed(), but that will make your code quite ugly.
Logged
Official FAQ:
https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server:
https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog:
https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/
Grime
Newbie
Posts: 13
Re: Can I pull events without having a window?
«
Reply #2 on:
February 20, 2019, 05:08:25 pm »
Hmmm, okay thanks.
How would I make a window hidden if I were to?
Logged
G.
Hero Member
Posts: 1593
Re: Can I pull events without having a window?
«
Reply #3 on:
February 20, 2019, 05:45:21 pm »
With
sf::Window::setVisible
Logged
Print
Pages: [
1
]
SFML community forums
»
Help
»
General
»
Can I pull events without having a window?