Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1  (Read 2064 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

qwqgqg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« on: May 08, 2019, 05:16:20 pm »
Hello,
I followed this video to every detail: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfMQyOw1zik, but console is spamming this - "Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1"

I have also same problem on Codeblocks.
EDIT: I've never had Joystick/Gamepad connected to my pc.

Log of debbuger:

'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'D:\Programovani\Vcodes\test\Debug\test.exe'. Symbols loaded.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\kernel32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\KernelBase.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\x86\aswhook.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'D:\Programovani\Vcodes\test\Debug\sfml-graphics-d-2.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'D:\Programovani\Vcodes\test\Debug\sfml-window-d-2.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\gdi32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\gdi32full.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msvcp_win.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ucrtbase.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\user32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\win32u.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\advapi32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msvcrt.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\sechost.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\rpcrt4.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\sspicli.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cryptbase.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\bcryptprimitives.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'D:\Programovani\Vcodes\test\Debug\sfml-system-d-2.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msvcp140d.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\vcruntime140d.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ucrtbased.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\opengl32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\winmm.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\glu32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\winmmbase.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cfgmgr32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\imm32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\uxtheme.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\combase.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msctf.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\oleaut32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nvaki.inf_amd64_196344aa96911628\nvoglv32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\shell32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\SHCore.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\windows.storage.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\shlwapi.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\kernel.appcore.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\profapi.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\powrprof.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\fltLib.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\setupapi.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ole32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\wtsapi32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\version.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\devobj.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\wintrust.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msasn1.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\crypt32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntmarta.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
The thread 0xed50 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x187d0 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x17b10 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x1970c has exited with code 0 (0x0).
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\dwmapi.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\nvspcap.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\dbghelp.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\dbgcore.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\winsta.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\dinput8.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Unloaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\dinput8.dll'
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\dinput8.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\hid.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\InputHost.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Unloaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\InputHost.dll'
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\InputHost.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\CoreMessaging.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Unloaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\CoreMessaging.dll'
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\WinTypes.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\CoreUIComponents.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Unloaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\CoreUIComponents.dll'
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\CoreMessaging.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\CoreUIComponents.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\TextInputFramework.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'test.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\clbcatq.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
The thread 0x17ddc has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x13c34 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x15638 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x10e7c has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0xe548 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x1563c has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x15e54 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The thread 0x19488 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The program '[89696] test.exe' has exited with code 0 (0x0).

Do you know how to fix it please?
« Last Edit: May 11, 2019, 10:52:51 am by qwqgqg »

qwqgqg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2019, 08:06:26 pm »
I also tried another compiler on code blocks, but the console is still spamming the sentence: " Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1". Check attached image please.

What would you do?

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9794
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2019, 08:41:10 am »
If you open device manager what peripherals have you installed? Something must be registering itself as gamepad, but not actually support gamepad functionality.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Nightly Builds: https://www.nightlybuilds.ch/
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://dev.my-gate.net/
Thor: http://www.bromeon.ch/libraries/thor/

qwqgqg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2019, 10:52:21 am »
Thank you so much, you were absolutelly right EXpl0it3r.


For everyone who has simillar problem:
Open "Run window"-> type "regedit" -> HKEY_CURRENT_USER -> Follow the attached image now -> Find device in your OEM folder which contains OEMName -> Disable/delete program/device.

nclemenson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2020, 04:26:39 pm »
I'm getting this error as well. I'm running a program called attractmode which was compiled with SFML 2.5.1.

When I run the application it is creating a device that isn't a joystick...

Any ideas?

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9794
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2020, 12:09:19 pm »
Can you try this fix/workaround?

https://github.com/SFML/SFML/pull/1634
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Nightly Builds: https://www.nightlybuilds.ch/
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://dev.my-gate.net/
Thor: http://www.bromeon.ch/libraries/thor/

nclemenson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2020, 03:23:41 pm »
Thanks for trying to resolve the issue. It doesn't work, but gives a more meaningful output:

Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode to absolute for device "Arcade Stick (Street Fighter IV FightStick)": 1

This is repeated.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9794
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2020, 06:00:45 pm »
Does it also "spam" that line in the console or only show it once?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Nightly Builds: https://www.nightlybuilds.ch/
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://dev.my-gate.net/
Thor: http://www.bromeon.ch/libraries/thor/

nclemenson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2020, 04:43:24 am »
Yes, it spams it.

roccio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2020, 11:49:29 am »
Same problem for me. It starts on window creation and them it spams.

Jontox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2020, 11:20:41 pm »
This is exactly what it is displayed in attractmode console: "Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1".
And that is spamming indeed in attractmode console mode.
The consequence is that SFML deactivates the controller and that is why attractmode is not registering any input.

Indeed my controller is registering itself as a Xbox 360 Gamepad Controller, but what's the point ?

The driver automatically installed by WIN10 is precisely Xbox 360 Controller and my joystick is indeed a Xbox 360 Hori joystick compatible with PC as well.
The joystick is perfectly working under WIN10 or any other game so why is SFML disabling it, it's out of my competence field.

The joystick concerned is Hori Real Arcade Pro EX
https://www.amazon.fr/Hori-Real-Arcade-Fighting-Stick/dp/B001GDONZS

Is it a bug in SFML or linked to SFML implementation in attractmode ?

N.B.: The proposed fix is that same post it not working. The result is same issue but with more explicits controller concerned as mentioned by nclemenson.

Many thanks in advance
« Last Edit: November 14, 2020, 11:23:18 pm by Jontox »

binary1248

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1398
  • I am awesome.
    • View Profile
    • The server that really shouldn't be running
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2020, 02:48:10 am »
This was changed in commit 3557c46. The last release of Attract-Mode was built before this commit was merged. Try building Attract-Mode with SFML master and see if this problem is fixed.
SFGUI # SFNUL # GLS # Wyrm <- Why do I waste my time on such a useless project? Because I am awesome (first meaning).

Jontox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to set DirectInput device axis mode: 1
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2020, 08:04:34 am »
Thanks a lot for your help.

I'll try and report... There is always a first time...