Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: C++ class related problem with object constructor  (Read 895 times)

SantoZombi

• View Profile
    • Email
C++ class related problem with object constructor
« on: June 28, 2019, 01:03:24 am »
Hello, world!

I'm a c++ newbie trying to code a RPG with a raycaster (based on Lode's tutorial). Everything was going smooth and I've got to the point where I could do the floor and ceiling casting. However, I ran into problems when I decided it was time to split the code in different classes.

The first class I was trying to add was "Player" which will store position, movement and "camera" parameters. Unfortunately, it went from looking like this:

to looking like this:

Using Eclipse's debugger I found that the player object is not constructing itself properly, which I found kind of weird but I guess it could some sort of pointer related stuff (honestly, I have no idea what it could be, other that my lack of knowledge of C++).

This is my class header:
#ifndef PLAYER_HPP_
#define PLAYER_HPP_

namespace player
{

class Player {
   public:
      //========================================================================
      //Public attributes=======================================================
      //Raycaster parameters====================================================
      //Camera parameters
      unsigned short int cMapID; //Current map
      sf::Vector2f pos; //Initial player's position
      sf::Vector2f dir; //Initial player's direction: {(-1,0) = N, (0,1) = E, (1,0) = S, (0,-1) = W}
      sf::Vector2f cam; //Initial "camera plane": {(0,0.5) = N, (0.5,0) = E, (0,-0.5) = S, (-0.5,0) = W}
      //Auxiliar variables to check movement
      sf::Vector2f oldPos; //Auxiliar variable to evaluate movement
      bool isPlayerMoving = false; //Activate when the player moves
      //Movement & rotation parameters