Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: I found some errors.  (Read 5721 times)

kolofsson

• View Profile
I found some errors.
« on: March 13, 2008, 11:14:09 am »
Hello. I'm not an experienced programmer, but i'd wish to report some bugs i noticed. My platform is Windows XP and the IDE is CodeBlocks.

Error one: the tutorial example, where the F1 key is bound to make a screenshot ends with a windows error message Memory could not be "written".

Code: [Select]
if (Event.Key.Code == sf::Key::F1)
{
    sf::Image Screen = App.Capture();
    Screen.SaveToFile("screenshot.jpg");
}

Error two: Another tutorial sample, where it is supposed to load an image, works fine on my PC, but when i tried it out on a laptop, i did not work with a 1600x1200 jpg image. I had to reduce the size of the image. The same happened when it was emulated in Wine: Failed to create image, it's internal size is too high (1600x2048).

Code: [Select]
sf::Image Image;
if (!Image.LoadFromFile("image.jpg"))
return EXIT_FAILURE;

I want to make a racing game that loads a track from a file, and it's supposed to be a considerable resolution. I'm worried that on some machines it won't work.

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
I found some errors.
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2008, 11:46:28 am »
Error one is already fixed.

Second one is not really an error, it's just that your graphics card can't load images bigger than a certain size (probably 1024x1024 -- you can check this with sf::OpenGLCaps::GetMaxTextureSize()).
SFML can't help much about this issue.

What you can do is split your large images into a few smaller ones.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

kolofsson

• View Profile
I found some errors.
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2008, 12:46:47 am »