Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Trouble understanding spritesheets  (Read 1058 times)

stardent

• View Profile
    • Email
Trouble understanding spritesheets
« on: May 10, 2020, 11:19:25 am »
Hey everyone I am very new to this so please bear with me. I've been following this tutorial:
https://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2015/10/26/SFML-CPP-Tutorial-Spritesheets-and-Animation.aspx
I am on the very first  part.

I am not using his example image, but a very small 32x32 png divided into 4x4 squares of colour.
Now, whatever I use as coordinates, I get nothing, or maybe something but totally unexpected results. The way I understand it is the first two values specify the top corner of the rectangle, the second two its size.
But if I use this:
sf::Sprite sprite(texture, sf::IntRect(0, 0, 16, 16);
I expect a 16x16 pixel chunk of the top left corner of the image. However, when I run it, I get nothing.
Can someone help explain how this works? I not getting it at all!
Thanks!

Hapax

• My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
Re: Trouble understanding spritesheets
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2020, 05:17:55 pm »
It sounds correct. The 16x16 part on the top-left of the 32x32 texture should be assigned to the sprite.

By, "get nothing", what do you mean? Are you drawing the sprite to the window? Are you sure the texture is loading correctly (are you testing the return value)? Does it show if you don't set a texture rectangle?

Since what you've said seems to be okay, it would help to see some code, preferably a complete and minimal example.

EDIT:
I should also mention that you can simplify spritesheet animation using Gallery Sprite, which is a part of Selba Ward - a collection of SFML drawables.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2020, 05:23:15 pm by Hapax »
Selba Ward -SFML drawables
Cheese Map -Drawable Layered Tile Map
Kairos -Timing Library
Grambol
 *Hapaxia Links*

stardent

• View Profile