Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Sprite animation sheet speed too fast.  (Read 1288 times)

MariosTheGreat

• View Profile
Sprite animation sheet speed too fast.
« on: June 14, 2020, 09:24:38 pm »
Hi everyone, I am new to SFML and I'm trying to make a small game that, each piece at a time, would turn into a very small scale 2D engine. Probably very ambitious but nonetheless a curiosity of mine since my teen years.

I am in a stage where I want to have the sprite of my character animated. I got it working, despite it being very rudimentary but now the problem is that the animation goes so fast it looks ridiculous. I can find no way to tune the sprite animation rate of my character.

I am aware that there are a lot of previous questions about the same topic but for the life of me I am unable to focus on what the problem is. I am aware I need some kind of "sprite frame counter" but I have no idea on how to implement it right now.

In my player.cpp class implementation i have the following function

void Player::animation(sf::Time& dtFrame) ///SIMPLE YET WORKING :)  HOW TO REGULATE TIMING THO?
{

///NOTE: IT'S ALWAYS A GOOD IDEA TO USE INTEGER NUMBERS FOR EACH FRAME IN ORDER TO SATISFY EASILY THE CONDITIONS FOF SPRITE FRAME CHANGING.
   if(TextureArea.left == 0.0) //When at the left-most, which is set by default in the sprite.
   {
      moverightFrame = true;
      moveleftFrame = false;
   }

else if( TextureArea.left == 4872 ) //When at the right-most of the sprite.
   {
        moveleftFrame = true;
        moverightFrame = false;
   }

if(moverightFrame)
       TextureArea.left += 406;
   if(moveleftFrame)
       TextureArea.left = 0;

Sprite.setTextureRect(TextureArea); //Take next sprite according to the previous in the sequence as determined above.

}