Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: VS Code running simple sfml app macos  (Read 385 times)

abp54

• View Profile
    • Email
VS Code running simple sfml app macos
« on: December 09, 2023, 01:10:38 am »
I have downloaded sfml and installed the libraries and include files in my project folder. I built task.json file and all is good. All the libraries and include files are found. It builds just fine but will not link with the following error:

dyld[26832]: Symbol not found: __ZN2sf6StringC1EPKcRKNSt3__16localeE
  Referenced from: <9D94329C-AD52-32F9-8EC3-F5817B408DDC> /Users/Anthony/projects/sfmltest/app
  Expected in:     <no uuid> un

Anyone else run into this. I can't seem to figure it out. I am new to sfml and a bit rusty on my c so any help would be appreciated.

Thrasher

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
Re: VS Code running simple sfml app macos
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2023, 03:55:17 am »
https://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.6/start-cmake.php

Try using the CMake project template and see if that's any easier for you. It's a lot easier to use.

abp54

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2023, 12:04:21 am »
What I really would like to know is what are the required libraries to link with macos g++.
It seems to me that:

g++ main.cpp -o appname -I<path to includes> -L<path to libraries> should work. I have seen it work in several tutorials. I just get path not found and I have done ls on the path and it is correct. Is it something to do with the .dylib extension. Does g++ appending something to the file name.

How do the Framework versions differ?

I would not reach out but I have been thru every tutorial I could find and everyone of them fail.
Maybe my mac is corrupted or I am just really missing something.

kojack

• C++/C# game dev teacher.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2023, 04:07:38 am »
g++ main.cpp -o appname -I<path to includes> -L<path to libraries>