Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Memory-mapped files  (Read 4591 times)

Tomis

• View Profile
Memory-mapped files
« on: August 13, 2010, 12:05:05 am »
Hi there, I'm a SFML user and I was wondering if there will be some support for a cross-platform API for memory-mapped files. As you probably know this technique can help a lot when using a single monolithic file to hold all your application resources, there are many potential advantages, performance-wise.

I'm still new to memory-mapped files so maybe I'm missing something but I think that if it's feasible they are a must. I'll look more into it and let you know if I find anything else.

Thank you.

Spodi

• View Profile
    • http://www.netgore.com/
Memory-mapped files
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2010, 12:57:17 am »
I'm not sure what benefits this would bring to the SFML-side of things. When you load content from files (such as images), the file is parsed then stored and handled internally in an internal format. So its not like if you load a JPEG, it just keeps that image in memory in the same JPEG format. This is why the format you use to store images on disk doesn't affect how it performs or the size in memory (except the time it takes to load).

Not saying memory-mapped files aren't useful, just don't see how it relates to SFML.

Tomis

• View Profile
Memory-mapped files
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2010, 09:50:47 am »
I think mmf are related to SFML because it provides a cross-platform API for various OS functions. It's not a question of loading content from files, it's a question of providing a more elegant kind of access to various resources in a monolithic file without having to load all the file into memory (or parse it from one end to another).

mmf functions aren't portable across Windows and Linux so I think such an API might be useful for SFML users.

P.S. - http://burningsmell.org/SDL_mmap/

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile