Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Introduction and comments  (Read 4817 times)

Julien_v42

• View Profile
    • http://tinyrpgsim.wordpress.com
Introduction and comments
« on: April 03, 2008, 01:32:20 pm »
First hello all here!

I'm a French game programmer (3 years of pro experience) who discovered SFML through a friend a while ago while searching for clean and fast-to-setup library for game developpement.
I'm working currently on two different projects using SFML: the first is an original board game (I mean like Reversi, not like Warhammer :wink:) and the other a much more ambitious game, not yet completely designed, but it will feature a very rich world, with active 'wild life' / NPCs and some music-based gameplay. Both projects have professionnal/commercial ambition.

(Now the history/blog part :D) I'm coming from Allegro (great, but integration with OpenGL was still lacking last time I checked), then I considered SDL (seems very feature complete, but didn't appeal to me much), then found SFML.
So far, I'm quite satisfied with it, it's straightforward and working as it should whether I need OpenGL or use its 2D rendering facilities. So thanks to the developer(s) for that! :)

Now after the praise, some remarks. :twisted:
I've not read the whole forum(s) to check if somebody already made all them, sorry if it is the case.

+1 on the following feature requests :
 - change window icon
 - add a file archive support (not critical for me)
 - basic collision detection in sf::Sprite (ie sprite bounding box overlap)
 - animated sprite support

There is something I'm unhappy with ATM, it's the RenderWindow / Drawable tie in.