Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false  (Read 3500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Floomi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false
« on: October 17, 2010, 04:22:09 pm »
This thread says I should be getting a message on stderr if I attempt to bind two sockets to the same port. I don't (and have tested it's not an issue with my IDE by spewing my own text to stderr, which displays fine).

Additionally, the second (illegal) call to Bind() returns true. Surely it should return false if this is not allowed?

I'm on SFML 1.6, Win7 x64 if that helps.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 06:29:38 pm »
Hmm you're right, no error is triggered. I'll check this as soon as possible, thanks for your feedback.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 11:21:18 pm »
It should be ok now.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Floomi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2010, 11:30:25 pm »
Fantastic, thanks a lot. Is that fixed in SFML 2 only or is it in the 1.6 download / 1.7 snapshot?

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2010, 11:36:14 pm »
It's fixed in SFML 2 only, there will probably never be a 1.7 version.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Floomi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Binding two sockets to same port doesn't return false
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2010, 11:41:44 pm »
Hngh, okay. I've already implemented my own checking for this, but at least it's in 2.0 for others :)