Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Updating SFML  (Read 3421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

darekg11

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Updating SFML
« on: January 20, 2011, 09:19:31 pm »
Hello, it's rather quick and easy question but I wonder how updating SFML looks like? Right now I am using 1.6 and it's great library but when official 2.0 come out how updating look like? Will coping new libs and dlls be enough? Or will I have to do some changes in code?


Thanks in advance.

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Updating SFML
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 09:25:58 pm »
From 1.6 to 2.0 there are a lot of API changes. You can already start updating now. Just use the SVN version of SFML 2. Like this, you don't have to update very much at once when SFML 2 is released.

No, you have to update everything, not just the binaries. The code must be updated too, especially if you recompile SFML yourself.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

darekg11

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Updating SFML
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 09:37:52 pm »
I did not recompile SFML by myself I used precompiled binaries, so it will be big changes in code?

And i want to move to 2.0 when it will be officialy released.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Updating SFML
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 10:47:34 pm »
Yes there will be big changes in code -- depending which parts of SFML you use. It is 2.0 because it breaks everything (binary compatibility and API). Otherwise it would just be 1.7 or 1.6.1.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Updating SFML
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2011, 12:16:56 am »
It always depends what part of the API you used...
The part that I had to change weren't that big.

WindowSettings -> ContextSettings
sf::String -> sf::Text
sf::String::setText -> sf::Text::setString

That was all... ;-)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

darekg11

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Updating SFML
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2011, 09:13:18 am »
Well I used all expect Network, anyway I am sure it will be worth it, thanks.

 

anything