Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: How can i start making a simple game like pong in sfml?  (Read 3687 times)

twigz

• MSN Messenger - Jerry_g16@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
How can i start making a simple game like pong in sfml?
« on: July 15, 2011, 01:14:04 pm »
Hello, I'm new to sfml , went through the tutorials until the sound tuts. I'm understanding it piece by piece, but i was wondering how will i be able to start making games using this library.

If you can refer me to simple games tutorials or a way i can start, that will be much appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

unranked86

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2011, 07:49:13 pm »
Hi there!
First of all, please, excuse my english.

Well, I can understand, that you're a bit lost :) But don't worry. It's simple to start a pong-like game. I'm not
a very good programmer, in fact, I started learning C++ a few months ago, and later I picked up SFML.
Anyway. I assume, that you're using the 1.6 version of SFML. That's a good sign, that you finished most of the
tutorials, so you have some understanding what SFML does.

What little advice I can give you, is this:

1. (maybe the best method to start??)
Take the code (for example..) of the Shape tutorial, and try to modify it. Create a basic shape, add an
event handler, to allow you, to move this shape around the window. Later add bounds to it's movement, like
if the shape's position is greater than the width of the window, then don't change it's position. I hope, I'm
clear enough.

Search the internet! :)
But this forum has already some nice tutorials, on how to start a game.
For example this

Read the documentation! It's very helpful!

I don't know if this helped you in any way. Actually, this is how I started to use SFML.

twigz

• MSN Messenger - Jerry_g16@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2011, 07:59:38 pm »