Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: A question on whether I can replace SDL with SFML  (Read 4510 times)

jeroen clarysse

• View Profile
A question on whether I can replace SDL with SFML
« on: August 03, 2011, 03:49:22 pm »
Hi all,

i'm new to SFML, but have quite some experience with SDL, which I use for the software that we program at our faculty of psychology. Since SDL seems to be dying off slowly, and support dwindling with Sam taking a leave, i'm looking for an alternative and SFML seems like a great alternative, especially since its code looks a lot more readable & crossplatform. However there is one issue that is pretty important for me :

I really need to be able to use dual monitors !

in our labs, all machines have 2 monitors, one of which is a 200Hz CRT on which the experiments are run (with human subjects looking at these screens), and the other one is an LCD on which the researcher is following the experiment (debug info, measured analog signals, etc etc, al from within our own software)

what I need to be able to program is :

- the software should use the CRT monitor as a fullscreen display, using hardware acceleration of the video card to quickly display images at speeds up to 5msecs per image (1 image per frame. Although we never do display timings this short, we do want to be able to start & stop a visual stimulus with the greatest timing accuracy possible and the least delay).  

* Can SFML use hardware acceleration ? (note : i'm talking about 2D blitting here)
            * can I use SFML calls to specify the monitor that I want to run on ?

- the software should also be able to draw debug info & visuals on the 2nd LCD monitor. Preferably fullscreen, but this can be just a maximized window too

* can SFML draw on a 2nd monitor ?

- the app is multithreaded.

* Is SFML thread safe ?